
Cabinetworks Group
Largest privately held cabinetmaker in the United States, formed in 2020 from the merger of ACProducts Inc. and Masco Corporation cabinetry division. Brands include KraftMaid, Merillat, and Medallion.
Company Type
private
Founded
2020
Headquarters
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Revenue
Not publicly disclosed (privately held)
Employees
Approximately 5,000
Primary Market
United States
Cabinetworks Group Timeline
Shop Cabinetworks Group Brands
Disclosure: We may earn commission from purchasesAbout Cabinetworks Group
What does Cabinetworks Group own?
Cabinetworks Group owns 13 cabinetry brands including KraftMaid, Merillat, Medallion, Smart Cabinetry, Cardell, Advanta, Echelon, Serenade, DesignCraft, QualityCabinets, Schuler, Yorktowne, and Modico. The company operates 20 locations including 16 manufacturing facilities across the United States.
Is Cabinetworks Group publicly traded?
No, Cabinetworks Group is a privately held company operating under the corporate parent ACProducts Holdings Inc. The company is backed by investors including Platinum Equity, American Industrial Partners, and GIC. Revenue and detailed financial information are not publicly disclosed.
Who is the CEO of Cabinetworks Group?
Jeff Jackson is the CEO of Cabinetworks Group, appointed in June 2024. He succeeded John Barkhouse, who transitioned into an advisory role. Jackson has over 25 years of experience leading company transformations, including 19 years in the building products industry. He most recently served as president and CEO of PGT Innovations, a manufacturer of premium windows and doors.
Where is Cabinetworks Group headquartered?
Cabinetworks Group is headquartered in Livonia, Michigan, United States. The company operates 20 locations including 16 manufacturing facilities across the United States, with its largest manufacturing plant located in Middlefield, Ohio.
How was Cabinetworks Group formed?
Cabinetworks Group was formed in February 2020 through the merger of ACProducts Inc. (acpi) and the former Masco Cabinetry division. Masco Corporation sold its cabinetry division, including KraftMaid, Merillat, QualityCabinets, and Cardell, to acpi for $1 billion. American Industrial Partners had acquired acpi in October 2012 and facilitated the merger.
What is Cabinetworks Group's revenue?
Cabinetworks Group's revenue is not publicly disclosed as a privately held company. The company has raised approximately $1.66 billion in total funding across multiple financing rounds. In May 2026, the company completed a debt restructuring securing $100 million in additional liquidity, exchanging $498.5 million in senior notes due 2029 for secured notes due 2032.
Is Cabinetworks Group sustainable?
Cabinetworks Group was the first cabinet manufacturer to earn Safe and Sustainable Cabinetry (SASC) certification from ICC Evaluation Service in December 2023. The certification requires third-party evaluation of cabinet performance, formaldehyde emission compliance, greenhouse gas emissions measurement, water consumption tracking, and waste recycling programs. The company's KraftMaid brand also holds Indoor airPLUS certification from the US EPA.
History of Cabinetworks Group
ACProducts Inc. was founded in 2012 and based in The Colony, Texas. It was acquired by American Industrial Partners in October 2012 and grew from a single brand and plant to 14 brands and 11 manufacturing operations. In November 2019, Masco Corporation announced it would sell its cabinetry division, including KraftMaid, Merillat, QualityCabinets, and Cardell, to acpi for $1 billion. The transaction closed in February 2020, and the combined entity was named Cabinetworks Group.
In April 2021, Platinum Equity acquired a stake in Cabinetworks Group, joining American Industrial Partners and GIC as investors. The company's total funding has reached approximately $1.66 billion across multiple financing rounds.
In June 2024, Cabinetworks Group appointed Jeff Jackson as CEO, succeeding John Barkhouse, who transitioned into an advisory role. Jackson brought over 25 years of experience leading company transformations, including 19 years in the building products industry. He most recently served as president and CEO of PGT Innovations, a manufacturer of premium windows and doors.
In December 2023, Cabinetworks Group became the first cabinet manufacturer to earn certification under the Safe and Sustainable Cabinetry (SASC) program developed by ICC Evaluation Service. The certification requires ISO/IEC 17065-accredited third-party evaluation of cabinets to the ANSI A161.1 performance standard and independent verification of compliance with US EPA TSCA Title VI.
In December 2024, Larry France began serving as interim CFO, and was permanently appointed to the role effective September 1, 2025. In October 2025, Erik Wille was named chief technology officer after serving in an interim capacity.
In May 2026, Cabinetworks Group completed a debt restructuring that secured approximately $100 million in additional liquidity and extended debt maturities. The restructuring exchanged approximately 99% of the company's $498.5 million 6.375% Senior Notes due 2029 for senior secured notes due 2032, and extended term loan maturities to November 2031. CFO Larry France stated that the transactions provided flexibility to focus on core businesses and long-term growth strategy. The restructuring was supported by approximately 98% of lenders and 96% of noteholders.
Cabinetworks Group Sustainability & Ethics
In December 2023, Cabinetworks Group became the first cabinet manufacturer to earn certification under the Safe and Sustainable Cabinetry (SASC) program developed by ICC Evaluation Service (ICC-ES). The SASC program is the first in the industry that requires ISO/IEC 17065-accredited third-party evaluation of cabinets to the ANSI A161.1 performance and construction standard, as well as independent verification of compliance with US EPA TSCA Title VI formaldehyde emission standards.
To achieve SASC certification, Cabinetworks Group's manufacturing facilities implemented a Greenhouse Gas emissions measurement program, a program for tracking water consumption and total waste weight, and a program to recycle or repurpose a minimum of 51% of waste produced. The company's KraftMaid brand has also earned Indoor airPLUS certification from the US Environmental Protection Agency, indicating reduced exposure to airborne pollutants in homes furnished with KraftMaid cabinets.
Cabinetworks Group has not obtained B Corp certification. Its sustainability commitments are focused on environmental stewardship in cabinet manufacturing, including sustainable materials sourcing and waste reduction programs.
Awards & Recognition
- SASC Certification (December 2023): First cabinet manufacturer to earn Safe and Sustainable Cabinetry certification from ICC Evaluation Service
- KraftMaid Kitchen of the Year (2025): Second annual award recognizing excellence in kitchen design using KraftMaid cabinetry, with over 150 designer entries judged by a seven-member panel
- 2025 Plant of the Year: Internal award recognizing the Sayre, Pennsylvania manufacturing plant for exceptional safety, quality, on-time delivery, and continuous improvement. The plant achieved a 67% decrease in safety incidents, 65% decrease in turnover, and 325% increase in cost savings year-over-year.
- 2026 Sales and Marketing Excellence Award (The Sammy): Chief Commercial Officer Danielle Mikesell received the Industry Icon Creative Award from Business Intelligence Group
- Indoor airPLUS Certification: KraftMaid brand certified by the US EPA for reduced airborne pollutant exposure
Controversy, Regulation & Public Scrutiny
Cabinetworks Group has not faced significant public controversy or regulatory action. As a privately held manufacturer of residential cabinetry, the company operates outside the regulatory scrutiny applied to publicly traded companies.
The company's May 2026 debt restructuring, while not a controversy, drew attention from industry observers as an indication of financial pressure from the housing market downturn. The restructuring involved exchanging $498.5 million in senior notes due 2029 for secured notes due 2032, extending maturities but also increasing the security claims of creditors. Approximately $316 million (63.4%) of the notes were owned by the company or its affiliates prior to the exchange.
The company's manufacturing operations are subject to US EPA TSCA Title VI formaldehyde emission standards for composite wood products, with compliance verified through the SASC certification program.
Brands Owned by Cabinetworks Group
Cabinetworks Group owns 2 brands in our database. Explore the ownership tree below โ click categories to expand and see individual brands.
Cabinetworks Group
private ยท Founded 2020 ยท Livonia, Michigan, United States
2
brands
Cabinetworks Group Ownership: Pros & Cons
Advantages
- +Largest privately held cabinetmaker in the United States provides scale advantages in manufacturing and distribution
- +13 brands spanning the full price spectrum from builder-grade to custom cabinetry
- +SASC certification as the first cabinet manufacturer demonstrates industry leadership in sustainability
- +Backed by experienced private equity investors with building products expertise
- +150+ capital investment projects in manufacturing facilities under CEO Jeff Jackson's leadership
Considerations
- -Privately held status limits financial transparency, with revenue not publicly disclosed
- -May 2026 debt restructuring indicates financial pressure from housing market downturn
- -Operating in a tough market with elevated interest rates suppressing housing demand
- -Private equity ownership may prioritize financial returns over long-term investment
- -Concentration in the US market creates exposure to domestic housing cycles
Frequently Asked Questions About Cabinetworks Group
What does Cabinetworks Group own?
Cabinetworks Group owns 13 cabinetry brands including KraftMaid, Merillat, Medallion, Smart Cabinetry, Cardell, Advanta, Echelon, Serenade, DesignCraft, QualityCabinets, Schuler, Yorktowne, and Modico. The company operates 20 locations including 16 manufacturing facilities across the United States.
Is Cabinetworks Group publicly traded?
No, Cabinetworks Group is a privately held company operating under the corporate parent ACProducts Holdings Inc. The company is backed by investors including Platinum Equity, American Industrial Partners, and GIC. Revenue and detailed financial information are not publicly disclosed.
Who is the CEO of Cabinetworks Group?
Jeff Jackson is the CEO of Cabinetworks Group, appointed in June 2024. He succeeded John Barkhouse, who transitioned into an advisory role. Jackson has over 25 years of experience leading company transformations, including 19 years in the building products industry. He most recently served as president and CEO of PGT Innovations, a manufacturer of premium windows and doors.
Where is Cabinetworks Group headquartered?
Cabinetworks Group is headquartered in Livonia, Michigan, United States. The company operates 20 locations including 16 manufacturing facilities across the United States, with its largest manufacturing plant located in Middlefield, Ohio.
How was Cabinetworks Group formed?
Cabinetworks Group was formed in February 2020 through the merger of ACProducts Inc. (acpi) and the former Masco Cabinetry division. Masco Corporation sold its cabinetry division, including KraftMaid, Merillat, QualityCabinets, and Cardell, to acpi for $1 billion. American Industrial Partners had acquired acpi in October 2012 and facilitated the merger.
What is Cabinetworks Group's revenue?
Cabinetworks Group's revenue is not publicly disclosed as a privately held company. The company has raised approximately $1.66 billion in total funding across multiple financing rounds. In May 2026, the company completed a debt restructuring securing $100 million in additional liquidity, exchanging $498.5 million in senior notes due 2029 for secured notes due 2032.
Is Cabinetworks Group sustainable?
Cabinetworks Group was the first cabinet manufacturer to earn Safe and Sustainable Cabinetry (SASC) certification from ICC Evaluation Service in December 2023. The certification requires third-party evaluation of cabinet performance, formaldehyde emission compliance, greenhouse gas emissions measurement, water consumption tracking, and waste recycling programs. The company's KraftMaid brand also holds Indoor airPLUS certification from the US EPA.
Sources & Further Reading
- Cabinetworks Group Official Website
- Cabinetworks Group: Closing of $100 Million New Money Financing (May 2026)
- Cabinetworks Group: Closing of Private Notes Exchange (May 2026)
- Cabinetworks Group: Jeff Jackson Appointed CEO (June 2024)
- Cabinetworks Group: Jeff Jackson One-Year Anniversary (August 2025)
- Cabinetworks Group: Larry France Appointed CFO (September 2025)
- Cabinetworks Group: SASC Certification (December 2023)
- Cabinetworks Group: 2025 Plant of the Year (June 2026)
- Cabinetworks Group: Danielle Mikesell Sammy Award (July 2026)
- KraftMaid Sustainability Commitment
- Woodworking Network: Masco Sells Cabinetry Division to ACPI
- American Industrial Partners: ACPI Acquisition of Masco Cabinetry
- PitchBook: Cabinetworks Group Company Profile








